RSS

Unknown Awesome Chicken

21 Aug

Mike had a training tonight until 7:30pm (ugh!), so I needed something I could whip together without having to do too much prep; that way, I could throw it together and wait for his go-ahead to pop it in the oven.  This was one of the first recipes I ever pinned on Pinterest; I found it on the “popular” search by Carrin Bachowski.    Imagine my utter surprise to discover it was actually HER recipe!  Bravo, Ms. Bachowski!  The recipe is written directly on the pin, so you’ll have to check the pin to get the recipe.

Recipe:
Ingredients:
4-6 raw chicken breasts
new potatoes
green beans (fresh or canned-really any green veggie would work. Broccoli is good, too).
packet of Italian dressing mix
1 cup of melted butter

I used 4 chicken breasts, 8 red potatoes (washed but not peeled) and 2 cans of cut greenbeans, and 1/2 stick of butter.  (Sorry–no picture).  I didn’t have a packet of Italian dressing mix, so I turned to my trusty Bing to give me a hand.  I found a great substitution tutorial on pPod’s Kitchen (excellent blog, by the way).

I laid the breasts in the middle of a 9×13 glass casserole dish (no Pam or spray), and then placed and built the potatoes and greenbeans around them, not really caring if some of the flavors overlapped.  I poured 1/2 stick of melted butter over the entire platter (1 stick just seemed like too much) and then sprinkled my aromatic Italian dressing substitution over the everything.  As soon as I got the go-ahead from Mike, I popped the entire pan in the over at 350 degrees and tried my best to ignore it for 60 whole minutes.

Within minutes, the entire house smelled divine, making it very difficult to concentrate on anything other than my grumbling, bumbling tummy.  Two minutes in the door, I had served two plates of this unknown awesome chicken dinner.  Devoured.  To give you a hint of how quickly this dinner disappeared, think of the poor cow in the Raptor enclosure in Jurassic Park…

Verdict:
Mike’s Opinion:
Taste: 5/5
Presentation: 5/5

Jen’s Opinion:
Taste: 5/5
Presentation: 5/5 (if I had seen this in a restaurant, I would have ordered it.)
Ease of preparation: 5/5 (SO! easy)
Ease of cleanup: 5/5
Availability of ingredients: 5/5

This is my favorite recipe I’ve found for a quick and delicious chicken dinner.  I will save this on a hard copy just in case 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 21, 2012 in Chicken

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
