RSS

Crockpot Beef and Broccoli

19 Aug

Beef and Broccoli is one of our all-time favorite fast-food Chinese dinners.  I’ve followed a recipe before and the sauce just wasn’t right.  So, when I saw my favorite recipe words (crock pot) on Kim McG’s board, I just had to give it a try.  This recipe is originally pinned from the blog, BS Recipes.

Recipe:
Ingredients:
1 pound boneless beef chuck roast, sliced into thin strips
1 cup beef consumme
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon sesame oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons cornstarch
2 tablespoons sauce from the crock pot after being cooked
Fresh broccoli florets (as many as desired)
Hot cooked rice

Honestly, I didn’t have sesame oil, and when I saw the price of it at Publix, I thought “what else could I use this for?” and left it behind.  I substituted a little Worcestershire Sauce.

This recipe was perfect for our Sunday.  I popped it all together around 11:00am, and forgot about it while we spent the day relaxing and preparing for our first day of students (officially, with students back).

  We had a Sons of Anarchy mini-marathon while the house slowly started to fill with scents slightly-reminiscent of China Wok.  The broccoli went in around 6:50, and around 7:15, dinner was served.

 

It might have been the sesame oil substitute, but I found a good bit of salt was needed to help flavor the beef.

Verdict:
Mike’s Opinion:
Taste: 4/5
Presentation: 5/5
Notes: The sauce was a little thin, and a kick of salt was beneficial.

Jen’s opinion:
Taste: 3.5/5
Presentation: 5/5 (it LOOKED like Beef and Broccoli….)
Ease of preparation: 5/5
Ease of cleanup: 5/5
Availability of ingredients: 4/5

If I ever procure Sesame Sauce, I might give this recipe another go, but for now, I’m still on a quest for the perfect Beef and Broccoli recipe.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 19, 2012 in Beef

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
