RSS

Alice Springs Chicken

18 Aug

Outback Steakhouse is not a restaurant we visit very often; when we do go, it’s usually in a big group of people.  Every time I have dined at Outback, someone orders Alice Springs Chicken and raves about how wonderful it tastes.  When I bumped into this recipe on Kelly Jonson’s boards that she captured from The Finer Things in Life, I thought it might be worth my time in the future.  Right-o!

Recipe:
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded to 1/2 inch thickness
seasoning salt
6 slices bacon, cut in half
¼ cup regular mustard
¼ to 1/3 cup honey
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
2 teaspoons dried onion flakes
1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
2 cups shredded Colby/Jack cheese

I do not own a meat tenderizer.  Never fear!  I got a kick watching my husband teach me the “improvising” way of flattening the filets.  Wrap the filet in parchment paper (I’m sure wax would work too) and place on a wooden cutting board.  Then, very quickly and with meaning, smash another cutting board over the chicken.  Voila!  Flattened chicken breasts!

I did not change any ingredients in the recipe and I followed the steps to a T.  The bacon was a pain because I couldn’t find my screen to keep it from splattered.  I will admit, placing the chicken into the grease sent quite the sizzle through the kitchen–a little unnerving for a bacon newbie.

Before it was cooked, it looked a little sloppy and slightly resembled a wet burrito:

The final product, however, right on!  Mike was afraid he’d suffer 3rd degree burns if I asked him to check the oven more than once–the smell permeates the entire house and it smells oh-so-good!

  Served with greenbeans for some variance in color.

Verdict:
Mike’s opinion:
Taste: 5/5
Presentation: 5/5

Jen’s opinion:
Taste: 5/5 (I think I would replace the French’s regular mustard with Dijon mustard to give it a slight boost)
Presentation: 5/5 (easy to serve)
Ease of preparation: 5/5
Availability of ingredients: 5/5
Ease of cleanup: 3/5 (the grease makes washing by hand a bit of a pain–I think a dishwasher would be no problem)

This recipe is phenomenal, filling, and fun!  Highly recommended for sharing with company.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 18, 2012 in Chicken

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Alice Springs Chicken

Leave a Reply

 
