RSS
Aside
11 Aug

I have 4 bananas quickly deteriorating in the heat which can only mean one thing: time for a smoothie!  This recipe was pinned by Amanda ZA from the Chiquita Banana website.  As a side note, I bought two 6oz tubs of Chibani yogurt this week, just to see what all the craze was about.  Last night we tried the Apple Cinnamon flavor, and neither Mike nor myself could get more than a mouthful down.  The texture is odd, the flavor is weak, and it left an overt sense of dryness in the mouth.  We left the  Honey and Vanilla flavor specifically to try in a smoothie.  (This is important in about 3 seconds)

Recipe:

2   whole Chiquita Bananas, frozen*, peeled and sliced
1   (6-oz.) carton non-fat Vanilla yogurt
1/3   cup creamy Peanut butter
1/2   cup non-fat Milk

Throw all these together and blend until smooth, serve immediately.  I used the Chobani Honey and Vanilla yogurt…

Verdict:

Mike’s Opinion:
Taste: 1/5
Presentation: 3/5
Notes: Very strange taste, and I think it comes from the yogurt.  It leaves your mouth feeling dry.  Did not like this at all.

Jen’s Opinion:
Taste: 1/5
Presentation: 3/5  (weird color)
Ease of preparation: 5/5
Ease of cleanup: 4/5
Availability of ingredients: 4/5

The flavor left a feeling of chalky dryness in my mouth, as well as an overwhelming flavor of the yogurt and peanut butter with no flavor of banana at all.  I took 3 drinks because I really wanted to like this smoothie, but I ended up dumping it down the drain for fear of my gag reflex…
I am not going to completely write this recipe off, as I have made smoothies with peanut butter and bananas before and loved them.  However, next time I will use vanilla yogurt as called for, and I will not use Chobani again.  (sorry Chobani fans…we are not a Chobani family)

Best Creamy Peanut Butter Chiquita Banana Smoothie

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 11, 2012 in Drinks, Smoothie

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
