RSS

Asparagus Stuffed Chicken

08 Aug

Let me just start with the fact that my husband loathes asparagus, while I absolutely love asparagus.  Pinning this recipe was a bit of a daring maneuver, because I honestly didn’t know if he would eat any of it.  However, I was pleasantly surprised when, after the first bite, I heard the tell-tale “mmm” and saw the knife moving for another slice.  Score!  We have a winner.

This recipe was originally posted on the blog, Ally’s Sweet and Savory Eats, and was originally pinned to Mark Dulniak’s Board.

Recipe:

Ingredients:
boneless, skinless chicken breasts
asparagus
cheese of choice
salt, pepper, seasonings of choice
toothpicks (I didn’t need these)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

I used canned asparagus, which doesn’t have the strong bitter/tart flavor that my husband claims is the reason he hates it, and grated Parmesan cheese (mainly because I realized too late I had no other cheese in the house).

It says to cut the chicken breast in half, but I decided to cut it open so it would lie flat instead of completely in half (I didn’t like the sandwich idea).  I seasoned the chicken with Adobo all purpose seasoning, a dash of salt and pepper, garlic salt, onion flakes, and a splash of Worcestershire sauce.  I stuffed the chicken with the asparagus and then folded over the top “flap.”  Then, I seasoned the top of the chicken with the same seasoning I used on the inside minus the Worcestershire sauce.  The recipe calls for placing the chicken directly on the rack, but I had a heebee-jeebee moment when I thought of doing that, so I placed it on a cookie sheet with aluminum foil.

The recipe said 375 degrees for 40 minutes, but my chicken was done in 23 minutes.  I don’t know if it was the rack or the type of chicken breast I used, but I recommend watching the chicken closely and taking it out when the juices run clear.

When it’s done, it should look like this:

(minus all the cuts–I’m a little paranoid about cooking chicken, so mine is always sliced to bits to check for pink…sorry)

The original recipe was served over rice, but I wanted some more vegetables with our dinner so I served the remainder of the asparagus and carrots seasoned with honey.

Verdict:

Mike’s opinion
Taste: 4/5 stars
Presentation: 5/5 stars
Reheatability: 5/5 stars (tastes just as good, if not better, reheated at a later time)
Notes: The canned asparagus gives a nice flavor as it isn’t bitter/tart, but it has no texture and turns to mush in the oven.  Fresh asparagus might give it a bit of a crunch to offset the juiciness of the chicken for those who are looking for a dramatic flavor shift, but I like the canned personally.

Jen’s opinion
Taste: 4.5/5 stars
Presentation: 4/5 stars
Ease of preparation: 5/5 stars
Availability of ingredients: 5/5 stars
Ease of cleanup: 5/5 stars

Overall, this dish was a great success and definitely a keeper.  Thank you Ally’s Sweets and Savory Eats for a delicious dinner!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in Chicken

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
