RSS

ButterBeer Cupcakes

07 Aug

Forewarning: I am a Harry Potter nut!  Living this close to Orlando is not good for my health, as I have to have a Butterbeer every time we visit Universal Studios.  I’d heard a lot about these cupcakes and other homemade butterbeer recipes, but I was a little skeptical that someone could duplicate that much awesome.  Cream soda happened to be on kick-butt sale at Wal-Mart yesterday, so I figured “eh, why not.”  However, as I searched through the dozens of recipes I’d found on Pinterest, I realized I didn’t like any of them because they seemed painstakingly difficult.  So, I went on a quest with my trusty Bing search, and found Pastry Affair.  Here’s a cook who knows what it’s all about.

Recipe:

Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup dark brown sugar, packed
3 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon butter flavoring
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup cream soda

Mind you–there are many other parts to this recipe on her blog if you want the ganache, but I’m the only one in my house who likes frosting, so I didn’t make it.  Looks simple enough; I might make it for my book club 🙂

1. I left out the buttermilk because I didn’t feel like making it.  2. I’m the only one in my house who eats frosting, so I didn’t make any (and trust me, they didn’t need it). 3. I added 2 Tbs butterscotch–next time I’ll add 1/4 Cup.

The recipe for the cupcakes is fairly simple, but the batter is a bit sticky so cleanup is messy.  It says it will yield 18 cupcakes, but I was only able to yield 12.  I needed to keep the cupcakes in for the full 17 minutes–they may have benefited from another  minute as the middle was still a bit tacky.

Unfortunately, there’s no picture.  They didn’t last long enough for me to snap one!  Seriously, between the four of us, these suckers were gone in a hurry.  This is definitely a recipe I will be keeping for future use.

Verdict:

Mike’s Opinion:
Taste: 5/5
Presentation: 5/5
Notes: Delicious

Jen’s Opinion:
Taste: 5/5
Presentation: 5/5 (beautiful golden color!)
Ease of preparation: 5/5
Ease of cleanup: 4/5

Yummy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2012 in Dessert

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
