RSS

Ranch House Crock Pot Pork Chops

08 Jul

Today, we are painting three rooms in our house with the help of my father and step-mother.  I figured people would be hungry by the time dinner rolled around, and I needed something filling and easy to meet this need.  I found this recipe on Stephannie Miles’s board, and it was originally found on Real Mom’s Kitchen.

I didn’t have time for the mashed potatoes, and too bad because I bet they are delicious, so I focused mainly on the pork.  My first problem was the pork chops were a little too small for the amount of time they would spend in the crock pot.  Make sure yours are the proper size for crock pot cooking.

Recipe:

6 pork chops, 1/2 inch thick
1 packet dry Ranch Dressing Seasoning
10 oz can Cream of Chicken Soup

The recipe says on high for 4 hours, or low for 6.  I chose low for 6 hours, and added a can of mushrooms to the pot.  Then we let it cook and got to painting.

5 1/2 hours later, the house was finished, and I was prepping the table for dinner.  The moment the tongs hit the pork, I knew they were overcooked and dry.  It felt like picking up small pieces of brick, and we can say I was less than pleased.  I’m guessing the 4 hours on high might have been a better option, but I thought the added mushrooms might help with spreading out the cooking (silly me).

Verdict:

Mike’s opinion:
Taste: 3/5
Presentation: 4/5
Notes: I think the time in the pressure cooker for the recipe was off.  It was so dry, and meat in a crock pot should never taste dry.

Jen’s opinion:
Taste: 3/5
Presentation: 4/5 (looked delicious)
Ease of preparation: 5/5
Ease of cleanup: 3/5
Availability of ingredients: 5/5

Overall, the flavor was very bland, the meat was dry, and the gravy was thin.  I was very disappointed in this recipe and I’m not sure if I’m willing to give it another go.  If you try something new with it and it is successful, please let me know.  I hate to give up on something that promised to be so tasty.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 8, 2012 in Pork

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
