RSS

S’More Bars

04 Jul

Happy Fourth of July, America!  We are going to have a houseful of people tonight, including children, so I needed something quick, summery, and delicious.  I found this gem of a recipe on MintWood and it was originally posted on Wit and Whistle.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/3 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 king-sized milk chocolate bars (e.g. Hershey’s)
1 1/2 cups marshmallow creme/fluff (I used 30 marshmallows–I needed more marshmallow!)

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease an 8-inch square baking pan.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to take any pictures of this dessert, but I can tell you, it didn’t last long!  I found myself panicking a little over the ever-expanding marshmallows, but nothing escaped over the sides, so there was no gooey mess in my oven (phew!).  My only complaint was after the yumminess was all gone — cleaning this pan was a bit of a pain.  It soaked for 2 days in soapy water before I could get the  marshmallows off the side.

Verdict:

Mike’s opinion:
Taste: 5/5
Presentation: 5/5
Notes: Oh my God, yes please!

Jen’s opinion:
Taste: 5/5
Presentation: 5/5
Ease of preparation: 4/5
Ease of cleanup: 3/5
Availability of ingredients: 4/5

More marshmallows 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 4, 2012 in Dessert

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
