RSS

Lighter General Tso’s Chicken

26 Jun

One of Mike’s favorite dishes is General Tso’s Chicken.  I found a recipe for “lighter” General Tso’s, though honestly, I’m not sure what it’s lighter than… I found it on Martha Stewart’s website, and I am the original pinner.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups long-grain brown rice
1/4 cup cornstarch
1 pound snow peas, trimmed and halved crosswise
4 garlic cloves, sliced
2 teaspoons fresh ginger, grated and peeled
3 tablespoons light-brown sugar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon red-pepper flakes
2 large egg whites
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 tablespoons vegetable oil, such as safflower
I cut and slashed this recipe, mainly because some of the ingredients were not available to me, and because other ingredients didn’t seem too…appetizing.  I used loose peas instead of snow peas because I couldn’t find snow peas in WinnDixie, Wal-Mart, or Publix.  We don’t eat much brown rice, and I didn’t want to buy it just for one recipe, so I used Uncle Ben’s instant white rice. I replaced the red pepper flakes with McCormick’s Roasted Garlic and Bell Pepper Seasoning.  I used regular salt and pepper, as well as canola oil.
The recipe itself is easy enough to follow, didn’t take too long, and didn’t make too much of a mess.  I posted the only picture straight to Facebook and didn’t keep a copy (whoops), but it pretty much looks like the picture on the website, with loose peas instead of snow peas 🙂
Verdict:
Mike’s Opinion:
Taste: 5/5
Presentation: 4/5
Jen’s Opinion:
Taste: 4.5/5
Presentation: 4/5
Ease of preparation: 4/5
Ease of cleanup: 4/5
Availability of ingredients: 3.5/5
This is a pretty decent recipe.  It’s a little sweet for my taste, but we both had clean bowls.  It’s a keeper.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 26, 2012 in Chicken

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
