RSS

Frozen Hot Chocolate

30 May

Serendipity is one of my favorite movies, and every time I watch it all I can think about afterwards is those humongous chocolate drinks Sara and Eve indulge themselves with in the Serendipity Coffee Shop.  Then, behold!  I found the recipe on Caitlyn Ryan’s board, pinned from a blog called Picky Palate.  Thank you, ladies!  I may have just died and gone to chocolate Heaven!

Recipe:

2 cups whole milk
Five 1.25 ounce packets of Hot Chocolate mix
4 cups ice
1 cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/4 cup mini chocolate chips or grated chocolate

Unfortunately I didn’t have heavy whipping cream, and at 11:00pm I didn’t want to run to Wal-Mart.  My impatience kicked in and I figured I’d give it a go without the whipped topping.  (Someday…whipped topping.  Someday).  I followed the recipe exactly as stated (aside from the topping), dumped it into frozen mugs that my husband conveniently keeps in the freezer, dropped in a straw, and drank deeply.
**Sigh**

Seriously, to me, it is that amazing.  I’m not sure I can survive the whipped topping.

Verdict:

Mike’s Opinion:
Taste: 3/5
Presentation: 5/5
Notes: The chocolate wasn’t all the strong tasting.

Jen’s Opinion:
Taste: 4.5/5
Presentation: 5/5
Ease of preparation: 5/5
Ease of cleanup: 5/5
Availability of ingredients: 3/5 (seriously, who keeps heavy whipping cream lying around?  That stuff is dynamite.)

Overall, delicious, but I  may try actually using real cocoa next time?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 30, 2012 in Drinks

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

